must stay positive

Met with the surgeon yesterday and it was pretty much a shortened version of the three-hour seminar from last week except this time I had to pay my copay. And now they finally move forward with submitting to insurance to get approval. According to the little postcard they gave me as I left, it could take up to three weeks to hear back from them. Three bloody weeks. I’m really hoping it’s much sooner than that.

In the meantime, apparently, I’m to get three tests done, which can be done Tuesday or Friday mornings in one of their offices:

  • H-Pylori
  • Vitamin D
  • Hemoglobin – A1C

Hopefully I can knock all three out in one visit and I’m shooting for this Friday. The sooner the better.

I will do whatever I need to do to get this ball rolling.

***

I nearly cried at yesterday’s appointment. In addition to it being a shortened version of the seminar, they took my height and weighed me. Then I was presented with a Tanita Body Composition Analyzer (TBCA).

I’m only 5’2. I thought I was 5’4 but I’m only 5’2. Do you know what two inches does to your BMI? Fugh! This is where the tears nearly came in. Here I thought I had a BMI of 40… turns out it’s actually 45.7.

FUGH.

The only thing that kept me from crying when studying this TBCA was that the “Predicted Weight Target” read that I “only” have to lose 84 pounds.

Regardless of the numbers, the fact is I’m severely obese and this needs to change once and for all.

Please Please PLEASE approve this surgery, insurance. And quickly before it changes in the new year.

Seriously. WTF happens if I get approved for surgery but it can’t be done until the next year and my insurance changes?! This is a huge fear of mine because HR constantly shops around for insurance. They’ve kept the same one for several years now but what if this is the year they change it?!

I can’t think negatively.

I have to keep moving forward as if I will be approved and get this new stomach by end of this year.

 

Leave a Reply

