done

I completed the overnight sleep study last night. Phew, I’m tired.

Seriously though, it was quite weird and awkward but it’s done. For now. I’m not even sure how many wires were hooked up to me… to the top of my head, my face, my chin, my back, my legs. Very weird. And awkward.

Then at about midnight, the tech came in to hook me up to the fun cpap thingie. Apparently I had quit breathing enough times, yay!

She said she’d start me on the nose piece only rather than the piece that covers your mouth (and nose?). A couple hours later she came in and hooked me up the nose piece that pushed oxygen through my nostrils rather than cup my nose like the other piece.

I didn’t really snore (gee, maybe because I didn’t really sleep??).

Apparently I should do well with either nose things and the option will be mine. She did say that this was the easiest of the cpap contraptions to have and I did well with the lowest setting of air.

Or something along those lines.

Before I left this morning, the tech did admit that I could probably have done without either breathing devises all together, but because of the surgery (36 days!!), she felt that they would’ve sent me back to do it again. I guess I was on the cusp of having sleep apnea and because of the surgery, it’s best to stay safe.

I get this and can appreciate it I guess.

So now I just wait for them to call me back to set me up with a machine.

Whoop whoop.

 

2 thoughts on “done

  1. I’m going to try to be as brief as possible because I tend to go off when talking about this. Sleep apnea nearly killed me. When I was called back to the doctor after my overnight sleep study, the doctor wouldn’t let me leave without a machine. He didn’t want me to order one, he didn’t want me wait, he said, “I’m calling the clinic to give you a loaner. Even if you can’t afford it, you need to sleep with one tonight.” I cried. Cried. At that point, I was already undergoing preliminaries for surgery so I knew my health would get better, but I still cried. I was having a stupid number of episodes per night and only sleeping about 2 hours in total and I would stop breathing almost TWO MINUTES AT A TIME!
    Anyhow, needless to say, I wasn’t sleeping with the machine 6 months post-op. I can fall asleep anywhere and stay sleeping and it’s amazing. I can’t wait until you no longer require it either. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, thanks for sharing!! I’m scheduled to pick up my machine and mask and learn how to use it all every night on Tuesday. Two minutes at a time!!! OMG, how scary! I’m actually kind of excited about getting it because I LOVE sleep. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

